Altar Servers of the Year honored by Serra Clubs

Story and Photos By Peter Finney, Clarion Herald

The Serra Clubs of New Orleans honored 79 boys and girls as Altar Servers of the Year for 2019 with a Mass and banquet April 2 at St. Rita Church, New Orleans.

Individual parishes selected the Altar Servers of the Year from their respective communities. Archbishop Gregory Aymond celebrated the Mass and presided at the awards presentation.

“When Jesus says, ‘This is my body, this is my blood,’ those simple gifts of bread and wine become the body and blood of Christ,” Archbishop Aymond told the servers. “I wonder how the apostles felt – their sense of awe at the Last Supper.”

He reminded the servers that they are ministers of hospitality as well.

“Who sets the table for our eucharistic meal? You set the table,” Archbishop Aymond said. “Thank you not just for serving, but for truly being extraordinary. As a server, you are an example to others.”

The Altar Servers of the Year were Patrick Beaty, Holy Name of Mary, New Orleans; Samuel Beaty, Holy Name of Mary, New Orleans; Katherine Bergeron, Ascension of Our Lord, LaPlace; Nyra M. Bierria, St. Mary of the Angels, New Orleans; Henry Black, St. Christopher the Martyr, Metairie; Madeline Blanchard, St. John the Baptist, Paradis.

Hope Bran, Holy Guardian of Angels, Bridge City; Eli Cannon, St. Joseph, Gretna; John Cashen, St. Matthew the Apostle, River Ridge; Nick A. Congemi III, of Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Kenner; Quinn Cooney, Our Lady of the Lake, Mandeville; Patrick Corcoran, St. Edward the Confessor, Metairie; Elizabeth Crochet, St. Rita, Harahan.

Jacob M. Davidson, St. James Major, New Orleans; Jax B. Dean, Assumption of Our Lady Mission, Braithwaite; Skylar DeFrisco, Sacred Heart of Jesus, Norco; Anneliese DePano, St. Martha, Harvey; Andrew Dinh, Assumption of Mary, Avondale; Gabriel Dickerson, Sts. Peter and Paul, Pearl River; Kylie Drain, St. Mark, Ama.

Brady P. Dufrene, Holy Family, Luling; Alyssa D. Duhe, St. Hubert, Garyville; Gretchen Dum, Mary Queen of Peace, Mandeville; Casey Eskine, St. Margaret Mary, Slidell; Hans C. Fleming, St. Catherine of Siena, Metairie; Nicholas D. Flynn, St. Benilde, Metairie; Tre Goudeau, St. Genevieve, Slidell; Nicholas M. Green, St. Peter Claver, New Orleans; Johnathan Griffin Jr., St. Paul the Apostle, New Orleans.

Truc Hoang, Our Lady of Prompt Succor, Chalmette; Giuse M.Q. Huynh, St. Agnes Le Thi Thanh, Marrero; Kaitlyn Huynh, Christ the King, Terrytown; Spencer Hyde, St. Angela Merici, Metairie; Dominick Jackson, Our Lady of the Angels, Waggaman; Jordan Joseph, St. Gabriel the Archangel, New Orleans; Zachary Kirkland, Annunciation, Bogalusa.

Meredith Kononchek, St. Pius X, New Orleans; Ian Kot, St. Joan of Arc, LaPlace; Andrew Laborde, Immaculate Conception, New Orleans; Chaz LeBlanc, St. Luke the Evangelist, Slidell; Andre Lewis, All Saints, New Orleans; Dominique Lewis, St. John the Baptist, Edgard; Jacob Martin, Divine Mercy, Kenner; Ashton Medine, St. Agnes, Jefferson.

Andy Merida, Blessed Francis X. Seelos, New Orleans; Gabriel Merida, Blessed Francis X. Seelos, New Orleans; Ally A. Mones, St. Bernard, St. Bernard; Sophia Morales, St. Cletus, Gretna; Dominic Naccari, Visitation of Our Lady, Marrero; Justin K. Nguyen, Mary Queen of Vietnam, New Orleans; Kayla Nguyen, St. Martha, Harvey.

Abigail Nolan, Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Belle Chasse; Kami Passman, Holy Family, Franklinton; Rockey Pratt Jr., St. Rita, New Orleans; Alana Pugh, St. Mary Magdalen, Metairie; Dominic Rankin, Blessed Sacrament/St. Joan of Arc, New Orleans; Rebecca Rhodes, Most Holy Trinity, Covington; Antoine Saleun, St. Francis of Assisi, New Orleans.

Justin Smith, Our Lady Star of the Sea,  New Orleans; Theresa Smith, Our Lady of Prompt Succor, Westwego; Natalie Sunseri, St. Ann, Metairie; Mollie Suprean, St. John of the Cross, Lacombe; Jeremy Surkand, St. Benedict, Covington; Antonio Taffaro, Our Lady of Lourdes, Violet; Patrick Theriot, St. Peter, Covington.

Keith Thibodaux Jr., St. Joachim, Marrero; Kyle Thibodeaux, Our Lady of Divine Providence, Metairie; Lakynn A. Tregre, Our Lady of the Holy Rosary, Hahnville; Ann L. Trinh, St. Joseph, New Orleans; Luke Underwood, St. Dominic, New Orleans; Foluke Uwaezuoke, St. Maria Goretti, New Orleans; Louis Veillion, Our Lady of Lourdes, Slidell.

Evan Vidure, St. Charles Borromeo, Destrehan; Sarah Vollenweider, St. Philip Neri, Metairie; Luke Walker, St. Anselm, Madisonville; Johnathan M. Wartt, St. Anthony of Padua, New Orleans; Juane Washington, St. Anthony, Gretna; Lillian Wiseman, Our Lady of Guadalupe, New Orleans; Brandon M. Williams, Corpus Christi-Epiphany, New Orleans.


Site Administrator

➤ Lloyd Robichaux | Site Administrator | Art Director | Webmaster | | (504) 596-3024 | Fax: (504) 596-3020

You May Also Like