Mt. Carmel, Abp. Hannan top volleyball seeds

By Ron Brocato, Clarion Herald Sports

Mount Carmel, winner of five of the last six Division I championships, shares the No. 1 seed with Archbishop Hannan, the top-ranked school in Division IV, as the race for an Allstate Sugar Bowl state volleyball championship gets under way.

The two powers are among 12 local Catholic schools to qualify in one of four divisions for the Nov. 8-10 matches at the Pontchartrain Center.

Archbishop Chapelle drew the No. 2 seed as result of its successful regular season in which the Chipmunks finished second to Mount Carmel in district play.

Dominican is the Division I No. 16 seed, but Mount Carmel’s top threats are No. 3 Dutchtown and No. 4 St. Joseph’s Academy of Baton Rouge.

Hannan is one of four local Catholic schools to gain a berth in Division IV.

Pope John Paul II is seeded No. 4 and opens with No. 29 St. Mary’s Academy at home. Academy of the Sacred Heart holds the No. 8 playoff spot, and St. Charles Catholic is entered as the No. 13 seed. All are on the same side of the bracket as the favored Hannan Hawks.

At No. 2, Cabrini ranks just under returning champion Teurlings Catholic as the team to beat in Division II. 

Teurlings defeated the Crescents for the 2017 division title, and the Hawks eye a potential rematch.

Also making the field are No. 14 Academy of Our Lady and No. 15 St. Scholastica.

The remaining top four seeds are No. 3 St. Thomas More and No. 4 South Lafourche.

At No. 4, De La Salle is among the elite teams of Division III, joining Nos. 1 Vandebilt Catholic, 2. St. Michael the Archangel, and 3. E.D. White.

Ursuline Academy is the No. 8 seed.

You May Also Like