(L-R) Ursuline Sister Rosemary Meiman ’46, archivist, Christy Jackson Zurcher ’00 and Dr. Emilie Gagnet Leumas, director of archives and records for the Archdiocese of New Orleans, at the recent tour of the old Ursuline Convent Museum.
Leumas, Ursuline Academy alumna 1976, conducted the guided tour for Ursuline Academy’s students, parents, faculty, staff and alumnae. Built in 1745, the museum is the oldest building in the Mississippi Valley and currently is hosting a special exhibit in celebration of the city’s tricentennial,”The Church in the Crescent: Three Hundred Years of Catholicism in New Orleans. “Documents and artifacts tell the story of the rich history of the City of New Orleans, the Catholic Church and the Ursuline sisters. This was an event to connect the current Ursuline community with a part of their cultural heritage.