CYO coaches set tournament field

By Ron Brocato

It’s amazing what can be accomplished over a plate of red beans and rice.

Following a luncheon at the CYO Youth Ministry Office on Sept. 20, 16 head basketball coaches collectively set the brackets for the 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Classic.

The 64th tournament will take place from Nov. 29-Dec. 2 at three gymnasiums.

The tournament field includes 2016-17 Division III champion De La Salle, the top seed, which will meet John Curtis in the first round at Brother Martin’s Bob Conlin Gymnasium.

That game will be followed by Brother Martin hosting Cohen.

Jesuit will be the site of a doubleheader matching the host Blue Jays against West Jefferson, and Slidell vs. Grace King.

Archbishop Shaw faces Hahnville, and host Holy Cross will take on St. Thomas Aquinas at the Tigers’ lair.

And a northshore doubleheader brings together East St. John and Fontainebleau, and St. Paul’s hosting Archbishop Rummel.

Game times are 6 p.m. and approximately 7:30.

Holy Cross will host the championship game.

St. Augustine, which is not competing, has also won 10 first-place trophies.

De La Salle won four straight (1953-56) and eight overall.

Holy Cross is a three-time champion, while Brother Martin, Archbishop Shaw, Archbishop Rummel and Cohen have two CYO titles apiece.

The first tournament was held in 1950 as a four-team event to crown a Catholic school champion.

St. Aloysius won the first three.

You May Also Like