Nine join elite Louisiana Hall of Fame class of ’17

Tropical Storm Cindy may have postponed the annual Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame celebrity golf tournament, but the three-day deluge did little to spoil the 58th inductions of eight former athletes and coaches.
The annual event, which culminated with the June 24 inductions in Natchitoches, welcomed jockey Calvin Borel, professional golfer David Toms, football greats Eddie Kennison and Ed Reed, former baseball standout Juan Pierre, Southeastern Louisiana University basketball star, the late C.A. Core and coaches D.D. Breaux and Ray Didier.

Former Southland Conference Assistant Commissioner Sue Donohoe, former Louisiana Lafayette sports information director Dan McDonald and New Orleans Saints commentator Jim Henderson received special awards.

The Louisiana sports Writers Association will choose the Class of 2018 at an Aug. 20 meeting in Lafayette.

First-year eligible candidates include:

➤ John Ehret’s Reggie Wayne, a former wide receiver with the Indianapolis Colts.

➤ Ex-LSU head football coach Les Miles, 2005-2016.

➤ Mewelde Moore, Tulane and Minnesota Vikings running back.

➤ John Brady, LSU head basketball coach, 1997-2008.

➤ Roger Cador, Southern University head baseball coach, 1985-2017.

➤ Kenta Bell, Northwestern State track and field athlete, 2001.

➤ Ryan Clark, a former Archbishop Shaw and LSU football standout, 2002.

➤ Brandon Jacobs, an Assumption High running back who played for three NFL teams, 2005-2013.

The Class of 2019 will be highlighted by New Orleans native and Super Bowl champion quarterback Peyton Manning.

Also eligible for the first time will be former Grace King basketball star Danny Granger, who played 11 years with the Indiana Pacers from 2005-14, and had brief stints with the Los Angeles Clippers and Miami Heat before retiring in 2015.

New Orleans Saints’ wide receiver Marques Colston, 2006-2015, will also be on the 2019 ballot. 

Please follow and like us:

You May Also Like